Then There was Thursday (#1)

I suppose you could call this a meme. I figured with Thursday being a terrible day for me posting anything, it would be a good time to post something about my life. You get to know me beyond books and maybe I get to know you.

This week I’ve actually been having a pretty rough time with my anxiety. I have been agoraphobic in the past and those issues are cropping up a lot more with my social anxiety getting worse. So instead of reading like I planned to, something that requires focus that my anxiety saps from me, I’ve been knitting a baby blanket for the future niblet while catching up on Teen Wolf and now The Walking Dead.

knitting+progress_ten+stitch+blanket

I’ve been modifying a ten stitch blanket. I’ve made it rectangular, am alternating colours each round, and am incorporating different stitches. The photo doesn’t do the colours justice. Thus far I’ve included, starting at the center, the garter stitch, the diagonal scallop stitch, and a modification of the zig zag column stitch. I started with knitting the the first stitch when knitting away from the joining, but once I started adding other stitches I’ve been slipping the first stitch every time. I like both the small bump that forms from knitting the first stitch and the Vs that form when slipping it. I figure the textures will be a little more fun for baby.

This is the video I watched prior to starting this blanket. It’s a 30 minute step by step guide done by Very Pink Knits, who’s one of my favorite knitting channels.

Also with my anxiety acting up I haven’t been able to do quite as much as I’d like to for the book blogger love-a-thon. So my participation wont be quite what it could be, but I’m still really looking forward to it.

And my birthday is coming up! I’ll be 22 on March 1st. I already know a present that’s on it’s way: a Gordon Ramsey cook book. It’s great that we have so much available online but having the opportunity to work through something more limited and put together by someone I trust is a different experience. I’m planning on making at least one recipe a week until I complete the book. It’s actually a goal I’ve taken from someone I’ve been chatting with. I think the book I’m receiving is the one they’re also working through. So I’m excited to work through it and build my own trusted cook book or box filled with recipes I love and will use.

On the topic of food, if you have any simple smoothie recipes you love please please please feel free to share. I got a blender for my birthday last year and have only just started using it semi-regularly. I’d love more ideas for breakfasts and snacks.
Bookish Boo

4 thoughts on “Then There was Thursday (#1)

  1. Hi, most mornings I make a smoothie with strawberries, blueberries, a banana and spinach. Add water and blend and it makes a pretty tasty juice to go with breakfast. 🙂

    P.S. I love Gordon Ramsey. I don’t have any of his cookbooks but I’ve been to one of his restaurants and the food was amazing. So hopefully there are some really good recipes in there!

    Like

    • Ooh. That sounds yummy. I love strawberries and I love spinach. Though I’m not a fan of blueberries. Is their flavor overwhelming? Do you use fresh or frozen berries?

      I’ll be sure to include my recipe explorations in my Then There was Thursday posts. I’m really hopeful for how they’ll turn out. But I come from a family of bakers who don’t really like cooking. Fingers crossed I break that chain.

      Like

      • The flavor of the blueberries isn’t overwhelming. I actually ran out of blueberries this morning so I made it without them and it was still really tasty. I use frozen fruit just for convenience sake.

        Like

      • I’m definitely going to have to try it then. I love using frozen fruit in smoothies rather than fresh fruit and ice. I can enjoy it longer without it watering down as much and it’s still cold. I may substitute in some steamed-then-frozen kale for the spinach at first though (I steamed it before freezing because I know it doesn’t blend well when raw). I should really use that up.

        Like

Leave a comment